Saturday, September 18, 2010

Pemilihan PKR 2010-Zaid leads Azmin 4-3 in PKR No.2 chase, Sivarasa ahead for VP

Saturday, 18th September 2010

Nominations for the PKR central leadership have begun filtering in, with the first 9 divisions in Kedah and Kelantan all nominating incumbent Wan Azizah Wan Ismail for the party presidency.

But for the No. 2 post that has been hyped up as a dog-fight between vice president Azmin Ali and FT chief Zaid Ibrahim, preliminary signs have emerged that PKR members may spring their own surprise.

Zaid, who hails from Kelantan, chalked an early lead over Azmin but party insiders say that is likely to fade as divisions from other states start their Annual General Meetings on Saturday.

The surprise nominations were for strategic director Tian Chua and vice president Mustaffa Kamil Ayub, who received one nomination each. Zaid received 4, while Azmin 3 (scroll below for detailed list).

For the 4 vice-presidencies, Subang MP Sivarasa Rasiah led with 5 nominations, hotly followed by by Lee Boon Chye, Shamsul Iskandar, Azmin Ali and Fuziah Salleh who received 4 nominations each . (scroll below for detailed list)

Siva, Boon Chye and Azmin are incumbent VPs, Shamsul is the PKR Youth chief while Fuziah is the national elections director.

First political party of its size to hold direct elections

PKR's 205 divisions kicked off their historic direct election on Friday, beginning with Kedah and Kelantan. Divisions in Perak, Pahang, Malacca, Negeri Sembilan, Penang, Perlis and Sabah will hold their meetings on Saturday. Whilst Selangor, Johor, Sarawak and the Federal Territories will meet next weekend onwards.

Apart from electing their office-bearers, division members will also submit nominations for the central leadership, i.e. the 25-member seat council including for the positions of president, deputy president and 4 vice-presidencies.

The AGMs will be held from September 17 till October 3. Nominations for the national leadership will close on October 10 and the official list to be announced on October 24. Not all nominees may wish to contest and may pull out despite receiving divisional endorsement.

Voting at all divisions will then begin over four weekends from Oct 29 to Nov 21. The results will be announced at the PKR annual summit on Nov 27-28.

Deputy President (1 position)

Zaid Ibrahim (4 nominations from Alor Setar, Kota Bahru, Pasir Mas, Tumpat)
Azmin Ali (3 - Langkawi, Kubang Pasu, Rantau Panjang)
Tian Chua (1 - Pokok Sena)
Mustaffa Kamil Ayub (1 - Kuala Kedah)

Vice President (4 positions)

Sivarasa (5 nominations from Alor Setar, Pokok Sena, Kota Bharu, Pasir Mas, Tumpat)
Lee Boon Chye (4 - Kubang Pasu, Alor Setar, Pokok Sena, Kuala Kedah)
Shamsul Iskandar (4 - Kubang Pasu, Alor Setar, Kuala Kedah, Rantau Panjang)
Azmin Ali (4 - Pokok Sena, Kuala Kedah, Pasir Mas, Tumpat)
Fuziah Salleh (4 - Langkawi, Alor Setar, Rantau Panjang, Pasir Mas)
Mustaffa Kamil Ayub (3 - Kubang Pasu, Kota Bharu, Pasir Mas)
Nurul Izzah Anwar (3 - Rantau Panjang, Kota Bharu, Tumpat)
Mansor Othman (3 - Langkawi, Kubang Pasu, Rantau Panjang)
Chua Jui Meng (2 - Langkawi, Tumpat)
Khalid Ibrahim (1 - Kota Bharu)
Zaid Ibrahim (1 - Pokok Sena)
Zambri Yusoff (1 - Langkawi)
Yahya Sahri - (1 - Kuala Kedah)

Taken From Malaysia Chronicle

Mupok Aku


Comments :

0 comments to “ Pemilihan PKR 2010-Zaid leads Azmin 4-3 in PKR No.2 chase, Sivarasa ahead for VP ”

Post a Comment

Post a Comment

Blog Widget by LinkWithin



Politics Blogs - Blog Top Sites


Google Rank

Alexa Ranking


BlogSearch Engine


Politics Blogs - Blog Rankings